The three Gunas underpin the philosophy of mind in yoga and Ayurvedic Psychology. They are particularly significant in terms of their psychological manifestation. Guna means strand, attribute or quality, and in the Bhagavad Gita they are described as the very fabric of existence, the veil that obscures wholeness in a covering of duality. We can also think of the gunas as different levels of consciousness. Studying the gunas reveals how the mind is operating.

We can compare the strands of a rope to personality; the various strands, or gunas, entwining to create our individuality. Within each of us are a balance of the gunas. Remember, you are not limited to the person you take yourself to be – you are the One Life expressing yourself as a person for a while.

The three gunas are:

– Sattva (harmony, virtue)

– Rajas (energy, passion)

– Tamas (restraint, passivity)



Complete this three gunas personality quiz to find out which of the gunas is currently dominating your personality

Now investigate your birthdate to find out which three gunas create your personality (click here)


Possible Results:


Rajas is the quality of taking action. This guna indicates an outward search for the answers of life. You are driven by a great inner thirst. As you seek recognition, respect and success, you might be a high achiever.


You may often feel busy, passionate, aggressive, frustrated, creative, have an over-active mind and body and are prone to anxiety, stress and panic. You are easily moved by your feelings. You feel overwhelmed at times and lack focus, but you are highly motivated and feel as if you are always seeking something. You are very active, mentally and physically.


You enjoy a challenge and have a full work and social diary. The attainment of material possessions could be important to you. You probably find it difficult to do self-inquiry and meditation. You need to increase the sattva guna. The light of spiritual insight will help reveal the answers already within yourself and stop you from seeking endlessly.


Tamas is the attribute of darkness or ignorance. You may sometimes / often feel apathetic, lazy, sluggish, fearful, foggy and prone to depression and sadness. You may avoid situations, feel tired a lot of the time and lack motivation. You find it easy to sleep and habitually move yourself away from stress, but may experience periods of loneliness.


You may be struggling with addiction and resistance to change. Tamas indicates a life led on a practical, worldly level and you may be bound to your earthly desires. Tamasic people have a mental attitude that emphasises sensuality. The attainment of sensual gratification could be important to you. Attainment of such desires creates a cycle of fulfilment and dissatisfaction.


You probably find it difficult to do self-inquiry and meditation. You need to increase the sattva guna. The light of spiritual insight will help you move beyond the darkness.


Sattva is the attribute of purity and lucidity. You are mostly calm, easy-going, accepting, contented and have your focus on realising your true Self / Truth. You’re very discerning and have a mind for clarity. You put others first and lead a compassionate and orderly life. The attainment of self-realisation is important you.

You do well to balance the other two gunas and mostly utilise them well. You probably find it quite easy to do self-inquiry and meditation. You follow the light and your intuition. You believe in purity of being, thought and action.

While sattva is thought to be the most ideal guna to have, too much of it can make us dysfunction in the physical world. It’s all about balance, but balance comes easy to a truly sattvic person.